Article Views

Uttar Pradesh: Modi defeats mahagathbandhan, Congress

Uttar Pradesh in the Lok Sabha election of 2019 has voted with a national perspective, rising above local issues and, to some extent, caste


Counting of votes is going on for the Lok Sabha election, 2019. Election results are emerging from Uttar Pradesh. Everyone had the same question as to whether the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be able to defeat the pair of Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav in Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha elections. The question has received a categorical answer. Modi has defeated the so-called mahagathbandhan.

The results of the Lok Sabha election have not been announced yet, but in the telling trends, the BJP is performing very well. The figures shown in exit polls had made similar claims. Especially in Purvanchal, where Modi wave is the strongest. It can be safely said now that Priyanka Gandhi failed not only in her mission to revive the Congress but also deprived the mahagathbandhan of crucial anti-Modi votes.

The results of the Lok Sabha by-elections of Kairana, Gorakhpur and Phulpur had suggested that the opposition alliance in Uttar Pradesh could challenge the BJP. Believing that, the Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party came together. Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav, keeping aside old enmity, decided to join hands ― not to much avail.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has edged past the competition in near 60 seats in Uttar Pradesh. This is less compared to the seats won in the last Lok Sabha election, but their initial expectation was not beyond 50. They planned to make up for the deficit as compared to the 2014 figures with seats from States that were virtually uncharted territories like West Bengal, Odisha, the Northeast, Karnataka while making up the ground lost four months ago in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh as well.

The BSP has done better than the SP, which indicates that the Yadavs may have voted for the mahagathbandhan candidates but Dalits haven’t in places where the candidate was of the SP. This was over and above the fact that the non-Jatav Dalits and non-Yadav OBCs voted for the BJP or one of its smaller allies in Uttar Pradesh.

Uttar Pradesh in the Lok Sabha election of 2019 has also voted with a national perspective.


By Narad

A profile to publish the works of established writers, authors, columnists or people in positions of authority who would like to stay anonymous while expressing their views on Sirf News