Naidu stunned while holidaying: 4 Rajya Sabha MPs of TDP join BJP

With the support of four MPs who switched over from the TDP, the BJP, facing a major crisis in the Upper House since its last Lok Sabha term, will get some relief


New Delhi: The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) led by former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu (TDP) has suffered another setback after a poor performance in the Lok Sabha election. Four out of six TDP Rajya Sabha MPs have hopped on to the BJP.

BJP’s working president JP Nadda initiated them into his the party’s membership.

Earlier, TDP MPs submitted their resignation to Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu. The party’s TG Venkatesh, YS Chaudhary, CM Ramesh and GM Rao have joined the BJP.

The TDP MPs, in fact, accompanied BJP working president Jagat Prasad Naida, to submit their resignations to the President. The TDP MPs went so far as passing a resolution and said that the TDP should be merged with BJP in the Rajya Sabha!

This turbulence has occurred in the TDP when party chief N Chandrababu Naidu was out of the country.

Naidu is holidaying with family in Europe. He had left Hyderabad with wife Bhubaneswar, son Lokesh, son-in-law Brahmani and grandchildren yesterday. Naidu is supposed to return on 26 June.

With the support of four members, the BJP, which has been facing a major crisis in the Upper House since its last Lok Sabha term, will get some relief. The BJP-led NDA does not have a majority in the Rajya Sabha yet.

Former Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu has six members in the Rajya Sabha and against the anti-defection law, new factions separated from any party will get recognition only when two-thirds of its members join this group. The total number of members of the Rajya Sabha is 245. BJP is the biggest party with 71 members in the Upper House.

Sirf News Network

By Sirf News Network