Monsoon session of Parliament to commence from 18 July

New Delhi: The Monsoon session of Parliament will begin from 18 July and end on 10 August, the Cabinet Committee of Parliamentary Affairs recommended on Monday.

The CCPA, chaired by Home Minister Rajanth Singh, met here today to recommend the dates.

President Ram Nath Kovind will now formally convene the session. The session will have nearly 18 sittings, Parliamentary Affairs minister Ananth Kumar said.

“We seek the support and cooperation of opposition parties. There are many important items on the legislative agenda that the government wants to take up in the Monsoon session,” Kumar said.

More than six ordinances will be taken up, he said. The triple talaq bill, which has been passed by the Lok Sabha and is pending in the Rajya Sabha, will be among the top priorities of the government, the minister added.

He said the government will push for constitutional status for the National Commission for OBCs. The National Commission for Medical Education Bill and the transgender bill will also be taken up.

With PJ Kurien’s term ending at the end of this month, the election to choose the deputy chairman for the Rajya Sabha will be taken up in this session, Kumar said.

The 77-year-old will complete his third term as a Rajya Sabha MP, he has earlier also been an MP with Lok Sabha for six terms.

Sirf News Network

By Sirf News Network