Home India Elections Jharkhand election in 5 phases; result on 23 December

Jharkhand election in 5 phases; result on 23 December

Jharkhand election in 5 phases; result on 23 December

The dates for the Assembly election in Jharkhand have been announced. The Assembly election will be held in five phases in the State. Election results will be out on 23 December.

Addressing a press conference on Friday, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that the first phase of voting will be held on 30 November. On 7 December will be the second phase. The third, fourth and fifth phases of the election will be held on 12, 16 and 20 December respectively.

Voting will be held in 13 seats in the first phase. Polling will be held for 20 seats in the second phase, in 17 seats in the third phase, 15 seats in the fourth and 16 seats in the fifth phase.

The CEC said that the term of the current Jharkhand Legislative Assembly will end on 5 January. The deputy commissioners visited Jharkhand on 17-18 October. As many as 19 districts of Jharkhand are affected by Maoism. That covers 67 seats.

BJP’s target in Jharkhand: Mission 65+

Under the leadership of Chief Minister Raghubar Das, BJP wishes to return to power for the second consecutive time. In view of the result of the Lok Sabha election, the BJP has set a target of winning more than 65 seats in the Assembly election. The BJP is in alliance with the All Jharkhand Student Union (AJSU) in this election.

Related story

Opposition’s gameplan

While Chief Minister Das is busy creating an atmosphere in favour of the BJP through a Jan Ashirwad Yatra, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha president Hemant Soren has once again embarked on a Parivartan Yatra to return to power and is busy creating an atmosphere against the BJP.

The Congress has played the tribal card here by making Rameshwar Oraon the State unit president. Babulal Marandi’s party JVM is preparing to face the electoral battle alone.

Jharkhand has a total of 81 Assembly seats. In the 2014 election, the BJP had managed to win 37 seats with 31.3% of the votes and its ally AJSU had won 5 seats with 3.7% of the vote.

The JMM had won 19 seats with 20.4% votes, the Congress had won seven seats with 10.5% vote and JVM had won eight seats with 10% vote. However, after the election, six JVM MLAs left the party and joined the BJP. Apart from this, six seats went to others.

%d bloggers like this: