IPL 2018: Fresh start for Delhi Daredevils and Kings XI Punjab

New Delhi: A revamped Kings XI Punjab begin their season opener in VIVO IPL 2018 against the Delhi Daredevils. KXIP missed last season’s Playoffs by a whisker, while DD finished sixth in the eight-team table.

Ravichandran Ashwin is leading KXIP this year. They are hoping to make a strong start to their campaign, while Delhi Daredevils, got new leader Gautam Gambhir, will also be aiming to start off on a bright note. Both teams look to begin the T20 tournament on a winning note.

KXIP look a balanced side with Yuvraj Singh, Chris Gayle, David Miller, K L Rahul and Aaron Finch not to speak of the likes of Manoj Tiwary, Mohit Sharma, Axar Patel and Mujeeb-ur-Rahman.

Delhi Daredevils’ Rishabh Pant was the joint-highest run-getter in this season’s domestic T20 competition; he scored 411 runs in 10 innings at a strike-rate of 195.71.

Delhi Daredevils brought onboard Ricky Ponting as the coach and then retained three players during the retention window, namely Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris and Shreyas Iyer. The Delhi Daredevils have not progressed past the league stage in the last four seasons.

Both KXIP and DD have never previously won the IPL title.

Team Head to Head

Overall: Matches – 20, Kings XI Punjab won – 11, Delhi Daredevils won – 9

At the IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali: Matches –  5, Kings XI Punjab won – 4, Delhi Daredevils won – 1


Delhi Daredevils: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Sandeep Lamichhane, Manjot Kalra, Glenn Maxwell, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Chris Morris, Colin Munro, Shahbaz Nadeem, Naman Ojha, Rishabh Pant, Harshal Patel, Jason Roy, Vijay Shankar, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Abhishek Sharma, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult, Daniel Christian, Sayan Ghosh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann.

Kings XI Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), Yuvraj Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Mayank Dagar, Aaron Finch, Chris Gayle, Manzoor Dar, David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, Axar Patel, Lokesh Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Manoj Tiwary, Andrew Tye, Ben Dwarshuis, Ankit Rajpoot, Pardeep Sahu, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Sran, Akshdeep Nath.

The match starts at 4 PM IST on Sunday.

Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi

By Siddharth Raghvendra Raghuvanshi

Editorial Assistant of Sirf News with experience in covering sports and entertainment for Navbharat Times and Network 18's IBN Lokmat

Leave a Reply