GoMs, EGoMs abolished

In a major move to empower Union ministries and departments, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has abolished all the existing 9 Empowered Group of Ministers (EGoMs) and 21 Groups of Ministers (GoMs). This would expedite the process of decision making and usher in greater accountability in the system. The ministries and departments will now process the issues pending before the EGoMs and GoMs and take appropriate decisions at the level of ministries and departments itself.

Wherever the ministries face any difficulties, the Cabinet secretariat and the Prime Minister’s Office will facilitate the decision making process.

The practice of instituting GoMs and EGoMs had begun under the NDA-1 Government under Atal Bihari Vajpayee and continued under the UPA-1 and UPA-2 Governments under Manmohan Singh to facilitate coordination between ministries often headed by members of allies of the respective coalition governments. However, in effect, it stalled progress of most proposals and projects during the last regime.

Surajit Dasgupta

By Surajit Dasgupta

The founder of Sirf News has been a science correspondent in The Statesman, senior editor in The Pioneer, special correspondent in Money Life and columnist in various newspapers and magazines, writing in English as well as Hindi. He was the national affairs editor of Swarajya, 2014-16. He worked with Hindusthan Samachar in 2017. He was the first chief editor of Sirf News and is now back at the helm after a stint as the desk head of MyNation of the Asianet group.

He is a mathematician by training with interests in academic pursuits of science, linguistics and history. He advocates individual liberty and a free market in a manner that is politically feasible. His hobbies include Hindi film music and classical poetry in Bengali, English, French, Hindi and Urdu.

Leave a Reply