BJP replaces ‘retiring’ Sumitra Mahajan, retains 4 Delhi MPs

The BJP has given Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri the ticket from Amritsar while the fates of three MPs from Delhi hang in the balance

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday nominated Shankar Lalwani as its candidate from Indore in the place of Sumitra Mahajan, the current Lok Sabha Speaker, who had expressed her desire to not remain in the poll fray recently. Of course, she had added she was not retiring.

“Politics cannot be compared with government jobs. Retirement age in government service is pre-determined. However, this cannot be done in politics because politicians are directly involved with happiness and sorrows of the common people and work for them beyond deadlines,” Mahajan had said on 10 April.

The BJP announced the names of seven candidates for the Lok Sabha elections on Sunday. The party has given Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri the ticket from Amritsar while four MPs from Delhi have been retained.

The party has given tickets to Indore Development Authority chairman Shankar Lalwani, replacing Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan from the Indore parliamentary constituency.

The BJP has announced the names of candidates in four seats in Delhi. The party has renominated Harsha Vardhan from Chandni Chowk, Manoj Tiwari from North-East Delhi, Parvesh Verma from West Delhi and Ramesh Bidhudhi from South Delhi.

The central election committee of the party decided the following names for the ensuing general elections to the parliamentary constituencies of different States.

This is the 23rd list of candidates from the BJP, which is releasing the names of its candidates for various constituencies in the order of the polling dates in those respective seats.

Sl. States PC No. Name of PC Name of Candidate Phase
Madhya Pradesh 26 Indore  Shankar Lalwani 7
Delhi 1 Chandni Chowk  Dr Harsh Vardhan 6
Delhi 2 North East Delhi  Manoj Tiwari 6
Delhi 6 West Delhi  Parvesh Verma 6
Delhi 7 South Delhi  Ramesh Bidhuri 6
Punjab 2 Amritsar  Hardeep Singh Puri 7
Uttar Pradesh 70 Ghosi  Harinarayan Rajbhar 7


It cannot be said at the moment whether the other three MPs, Meenakshi Lekhi, Udit Raj and Maheish Girri have been dropped. No name has been announced for their seats.

Sources in the BJP said that the public feedback about Udit Raj was poor. They added that some of his utterances over the past five years have not been in sync with the ideology of the RSS-BJP, which is why chances are high he would be dropped.

Maheish Girri, the sources said, is being considered for a constituency in Gujarat. Girri used to be a peethadheesh (head of a Hindu monastery) in Junagarh of the State, where he is believed to wield considerable influence.

The feedback about Meenakshi Lekhi is mixed.

For more Lok Sabha election-related news, please visit this page.