Bangladesh: MPs of Awami League, minuscule opposition to take oath on 3 January

Dhaka: The newly-elected lawmakers to the Bangladesh parliament will be sworn in on 3 January. Parliament Secretariat informed the press this morning that the oath-taking ceremony will be held in the Jatiya Sangsad on that day.

A specific time for the swearing-in ceremony could not be ascertained.

The newly-elected leaders of the BNP, headed by imprisoned former premier Khaleda Zia, will not take oath as they have rejected the results, the party announced Tuesday, hours after the government said the MPs-elect will take the oath for membership of the Bangladeshi Parliament on 3 January.

The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), which rejected the poll outcome as “farcical” and demanded a fresh election, won five seats in the 300-member Parliament.

Bangladesh’s Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu said too that the newly-elected MPs will be sworn in on 3 January. He was talking to reporters during a dialogue with Bangladesh Secretariat Reporters Forum at the media centre of his secretariat office.

The minister said the gazette notification in this regard will be published within a few days. “The government will formally announce the date,” he added.

Responding to a journalist’s query, Inu said BNP rejected the election results as part of its conspiracy.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s ruling alliance swept to a landslide victory in the 11th general elections, securing a third straight term.

The opposition alliance, comprising the BNP and some smaller parties, criticised the Election Commission (EC) and accused its chief of being biased.

The EC, however, ruled out holding fresh polls.

Leave a Reply